top of page


Henri Delaunay Trophy balloon takes flight across Europe as qualifying for UEFA EURO 2020 begins.

UEFA has announced the initial line-up of UEFA EURO 2020 ambassadors tasked with promoting the final tournament, which will take place in 12 European cities from 12 June to 12 July 2020 to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the competition. 

Thirty-four legends who have marked the history of the UEFA European Football Championship were represented by UEFA EURO ’92 winner Peter Schmeichel, UEFA EURO 2000 winner David Trezeguet and UEFA EURO 2004 finalist Luís Figo at a kick-off event at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland, after which the Henri Delaunay Trophy balloon took flight for a unique voyage across Europe.

“I am proud that EURO legends such as Peter Schmeichel, David Trezeguet and Luís Figo are actively involved in promoting 60 years of the UEFA European Football Championship,” said UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin. “As EURO finalists, they have all contributed to creating many of the most iconic memories in the history of this great competition, and we look forward to their involvement in supporting UEFA EURO 2020 – an event that will be much closer to football fans than ever before.” 


bottom of page